stations to stations


9:15 am on Thursday concluded week two of my workout-for-credit class, and I have to say that I am really enjoying it! Both days this week focused on stations to target different areas of the core. From a station just for planks to an arm station using just your oh-so-sweet smelling sneakers as hand weights, we really worked everything! For me, though, stations have their pros and cons. On the plus side, you get to go at your own pace, and there is no one standing over your shoulder to make sure you do every last rep when your arms are about to fall off (do not underestimate the toning power of sneakers. After 50 reps, you’d think you were lifting 5-pounders). All the same, this is the downside of stations. At least when the whole class is working out together, you have the encouragement of the person sweating next to you to keep you going. That, and the fact that it would be very obvious to the instructor if you wimped out, as you’d be the only motionless body in the wall-length mirrors.

To add a little cardio to my week, I chose Wednesday to go on a run. The sun was shining, but the breeze kept the air cool– the perfect weather for a run. The thing I love about being in a new place is getting lost on runs. I have yet to discover my go-to route, so I can run in any which way my heart desires until I either find myself back at home, or I tire out and walk to the nearest coffee shop (my latest discovery: Para Coffee. Deeeelish. To all my fellow Cavaladies, I recommend you reroute your next Starbucks stop).

I suppose I was enjoying my adventure run a little too much this week… As I was approaching my dorm at the end, I was so absorbed in the moment that I failed to notice a slightly raised brick on the sidewalk. You can probably guess what happened next–and yes, many people saw it happen. I quickly picked myself up after my epic tumble, awkwardly laughing at myself to give the impression I was not embarrassed, only to find that my poor little phone took the fall harder than I had.

 

Well, that’s what I get for trying to be healthy. Oh the irony…

One thought on “stations to stations

Leave a Reply

